Skip to Content

West Anglian Orienteering Club

WAGAL LeagueWAOC's club league

Last Updated: Tue 17 Mar 2020

Current WAGAL scores

What is WAGAL?

The WAGAL is WAOC's own club league. Club members automatically earn points depending on their performance relative to other club members, in a number of nominated events (usually events we organise ourselves) throughout the year. We award trophies annually to the male and female winners in different age categories. The current rankings, as well as a list of previous winners and results from earlier years, can be found by selecting the link "Current WAGAL scores" above.

What events are in the league?

We normally nominate 5 or 6 events in the year as WAGAL events. This year (2020) is exceptional, as our February event had to be cancelled due to adverse weather, and the future schedule of events is currently in flux as a result of measures to combat the spread of COVID-19.

In 2020, WAGAL points will be awarded from the following events:

  • Rowney Warren - 8th March
  • CompassSport Cup &Trophy Qualifier, Apsley Heath -15th March

Others to be confirmed, but expected to be all remaining level C events in the year.

In 2019, WAGAL points were awarded at the following events:

  • Bush Heath Woods - 3rd February
  • Royston Urban – 10th March
  • CompassSport Cup &Trophy Qualifier, Sherwood Pines -17th March
  • Bury St Edmunds Urban – 6th October
  • CompassSport Trophy Final, Pippingford Park - 21st October
  • Maulden Woods – 17th November

Best 4 scores to count.

Details of the Scoring System

The WAGAL is based loosely on the way that the BOF ranking points were calculated for 'ranking events' (Regional or Level C, and above) but is expanded to fit a 'club' setup with its many different age classes and courses run (Yellow upwards). This ranking system also takes into account the different running speeds between areas and the strength of the competitors attending an event.

Historically (up to 2010) qualifying events for the WAGAL were limited to higher profile events (level C and level B, or Regional and National in the latest BO nomenclature).

Since then the league has been expanded to include a wider range of events. The qualifying events for 2012, and basis for calculation of total points, were defined in a JabberWAOC article in Winter 2011.

The same basis has been applied since, and the rules below have been updated accordingly

From 2014 on, two additional categories, SuperVet Men and SuperVet Women, have been added for Age Classes 55+.

Basic Rules

  • WAGAL events comprise all WAOC's own events, excluding certain low key events for which points cannot easily be derived, together with some events not organised by WAOC but for which a high WAOC turnout is expected and encouraged, such as CompassSport Cup Qualifying rounds.
  • The best 3 scores of each person in the year count, if there are 3, 4, or 5 WAGAL events in the year. If there are 6 WAGAL events in the year, the best 4 scores count, and if 7 or more WAGAL events take place in the year, the best 5 scores count for each individual.
  • The WAGAL year runs from 1st January to 31st December, with changes in age classes applying from 1st Jan just as for BOF age classes.
  • Only courses of Yellow standard and upwards will count.
  • Competitors must compete as individuals - e.g. results obtained running as a pair will not count.
  • The run must be competitive, e.g. where a junior runs more than one course at an event, only the first run will be used.
  • The planner will be awarded a score equal to the highest they attained at other WAGAL events during that year. For 2013 onwards, any WAOC controller controlling a WAOC event will have points awarded in the same way (This can apply to one who acts as controller, helping to check tapes, set out and check controls on the day, for a level D event even if not a fomally qualified controller).
  • It is intended that the organiser would be able to run at the event they organise. However, if organising duties preclude a run, for 2013 on, points will be awarded to the organiser in lieu of a run in the same way as for the planner.

To allow for different age groups and courses, two weighting factors have been applied to the min/km for each runner to produce the 'weighted min/km'. The first is for the age class of the runner; these are taken from the BOF Guidelines. The second is for the course run. These have been adapted to include the expanded range of colour-coded courses which may be available. The factors used are listed below.

    M10  1.35    M40  1.12    W10  1.69    W40  1.45        Yellow      0.75
    M12  1.30    M45  1.16    W12  1.61    W45  1.49        Orange      0.82
    M14  1.25    M50  1.22    W14  1.54    W50  1.59        Red         0.85
    M16  1.19    M55  1.30    W16  1.49    W55  1.72        Long Orange 0.85
    M18  1.11    M60  1.43    W18  1.43    W60  1.89        Light Green 0.90
    M20  1.09    M65  1.56    W20  1.41    W65  2.10        Short Green 0.915
    M21  1.00    M70  1.75    W21  1.22    W70  2.38        Green       0.93
    M35  1.09    M75  2.00    W35  1.41    W75  2.86        Short Blue  0.945
                 M80  2.38                 W80  3.57        Blue        0.96
                 M85  2.77                 W85  5.26        Short Brown 0.98
                                                            Brown       1.00
                                                            Black       1.03

The Formula

At each event, only results of WAOC runners are considered. Scores are derived from the weighted min/km of each competitor. The weighted min/km is the runners time divided by the course length (from the published results) divided by the course weighting factor and then divided by the competitors age/gender class weighting factor. This weighted min/km is called RT in the formula below. The ranking score (Race Points or RP) is calculated for each person using RP = [1000 + 50 * (IMT - RT) / SD)].

In this calculation, the Ideal Mean Time IMT is calculated as: IMT = MT + (MP - 1000) * SD / 200.

The mean, MT, and standard deviation, SD, are both in terms of weighted min/km (not actual time), and are calculated using the weighted min/km times of all ranked runners (as defined below) who finished within 100% of the fastest weighted min/km.

The mean (MP) is taken from the average of previous years' ranking points, defined as follows: MP is the mean ranking score (taken from previous published WAGAL results) of all runners who have completed the previous year's minimum number of events within the past 2 years and who finish within 100% of the fastest weighted min/km. For example, if the previous year's results were calculated from the best 3 results, then for events in the current year, MP at each event is calculated using the average ranking score of all competitors at that event who have a weighted min/km of less than or equal to 2 times the lowest weighted min/km, and who competed in at least 3 WAGAL events in the previous 2 years.